home my account help contact
RAT RACE MONOPOLY IS THE BEST MONOPOLY VARIATION GAME EVER !

 TRY IT TODAY !
Rat Race Monopoly Rules
Classic Monopoly Rules
Classic Monopoly FAQ
Monopoly Game Links
Monopoly History
Everything you ever wanted to know about MONOPOLY Deal. If you don't see the answer to your question about MONOPOLY here, please contact Hasbro's Customer Service.

Frequently Asked Questions about MONOPOLY


Q - Are MONOPOLY game instructions available online?
A - Instructions for the Classic Monopoly game can be found by clicking on the 'Classic Monopoly rules' link in the above tab.

Q - What is the breakdown of MONOPOLY game money?
A - Quantities and denominations found in standard editions of the MONOPOLY game: 30 $500 Bills (orange) , 30 $100 Bills (peach), 30 $50 Bills (purple), 30 $20. Bills (light green), 30 $10. Bills (blue), 30 $5. Bills (pink), 30 $1. Bills (white). Total amount of money per game = $20,580.

Q - What languages/countries are represented by specific MONOPOLY games?
A - The MONOPOLY game is licensed in 103 countries and the list continues to grow. The 37 languages in which the game is printed included Italian, Indian, Arabic, Portuguese, Croatian, Czech, Icelandic and Russian. Most foreign editions adopt their own currency and property names -- for example, BOARDWALK becomes Mayfair in England, Rue de la Paix in France and Schlossallee in Germany. The National Federation of the Blind used a Braille edition, once, but the edition was never published publicly. We have no foreign language or overseas editions available for sale in the United States.


Frequently Asked Questions about MONOPOLY Deal



Q - WHAT DO I DO ON MY TURN?
A - 1. Pick up 2 cards from the draw pile (the pile in the middle) and add them to the cards in your hand.
(Unless you have no cards left in your hand – in which case you pick up 5 cards, not 2.) 2. Choose up to 3 cards to ‘play’. You can play 0, 1, 2 or 3 cards – it’s up to you!

Q - WHAT DOES ‘PLAYING A CARD’ MEAN?
A - On your turn, you can play (put down) up to 3 Property cards, Action cards, Money cards or any combination of the three.

To play a Property card:
Choose a Property card from your hand to put down on the table in front of you, either to start a colour-set or add to one that you started earlier.

To play a Money card:
Put a Money card from your hand onto the table in front of you, to either start your Bank pile or add to it.

To play an Action card:
Follow the instructions on the card (i.e. collect money from the other players for your birthday/charge rent etc.). Put the card onto the play pile (next to the draw pile in the centre of the playing area). You cannot keep Action cards once you’ve used them.

If you have an Action card that you don’t want to use for its action, you can use it as money instead. Its value is shown in the red rings in the corners. Put it onto your Bank pile in the same way you would with a Money card.

Remember: if you use an Action card as money, you can’t take it out of your Bank to use for its action later! If you pay another player with it, they must put it straight into their Bank and can’t use it for its action either!

Q - WHAT DO I NEED TO DO TO WIN?
A - Collect 3 DIFFERENT COLOURED property sets, i.e. a full set of Property cards from 3 colour groups.

Just like in the Monopoly board game, some sets are made up of 2 properties (e.g. the browns and the dark blues), some have 3 properties (e.g. yellows, reds, greens etc.) and some have 4 (e.g. the train stations).

Q - DO I HAVE TO PLAY 3 CARDS ON EVERY TURN?
A - No. On every go, you can decide whether to play 0, 1, 2 or 3 cards – it’s up to you!

Remember: if, at the end of your turn, you have more than 7 left in your hand, you must get rid of as many as you need to so that you’re only holding 7.

For example, if you have 9 cards in your hand, you must choose 2 to discard onto the play pile. Cards you’ve played (i.e. cards that are on the table in front of you) do not count towards this 7-card limit.

Q - HOW MANY CARDS AM I ALLOWED TO HAVE ON THE TABLE IN FRONT OF ME?
A - There is no limit to how many cards you can have in your Bank and/or Property collection on the table in front of you.

Q - WHAT IF I RUN OUT OF CARDS? DOES THIS MEAN I'M 'OUT'?
A - No. It is impossible to be out. If you have no cards left at the end of your turn, wait until the start of your next turn and pick up 5 cards (instead of the usual 2, not in addition to) from the draw pile.

Q - WHAT IF THE DRAW PILE RUNS OUT?
A - Shuffle the play pile (the cards that have been put into the middle during the game) and make a new draw pile.

Q - CAN I EVER PUT A CARD BACK INTO MY HAND?
A - No. Once a card has been put down in the playing area (on the play pile, into a property collection or into someone's Bank), it can NEVER go back into a player's hand.

PROPERTY CARDS & PROPERTY SETS

Q - CAN I PUT PROPERTY CARDS INTO MY BANK?

A - No. Property cards must never go into your Bank. They only count as property.

Q - IS IT OK TO COLLECT MORE THAN 3 PROPERTY SETS AT ONCE?
A - Yes. You can collect as many different property sets as you want to. Remember, 3 full sets of different colours win the game!

Q - CAN MORE THAN ONE PLAYER COLLECT PROPERTIES OF THE SAME COLOUR?
A - Yes. Once a player has put down a Property card of a particular colour, it does not stop other players collecting that colour. It’s possible for two different players to each have a complete set of the same colour.

Q - CAN I STEAL PROPERTIES FROM FULL SETS USING MY ACTION CARDS?
A - Yes and no.

If you have a Sly Deal or a Forced Deal card, you can't steal or swap a card from a complete set.

If you have a Deal Breaker card, you can steal the whole set! (But you can’t steal an incomplete set.)

Q - DO I NEED TO HAVE 4 'HOUSE' CARDS ON A PROPERTY SET BEFORE I CAN PUT A HOTEL ON IT, LIKE IN THE BOARD GAME?
A - No. In Monopoly Deal you only need one House on a property set before you can put a Hotel on it. Remember, you need a full set of properties before you can put a House down!

Q - IF I STEAL A FULL PROPERTY SET (USING A DEAL BREAKER), CAN I STEAL ANY HOUSE AND HOTELS THAT ARE ON THAT SET TOO?
A - Yes. You can steal all of the Property cards in the set and the House/Hotel cards too!

Q - CAN I REARRANGE MY PROPERTY CARDS DURING MY TURN?
A - Yes, you can. But only on your turn. Moving a Property card around between sets does not count as one of the three cards you can lay on each turn.

PROPERTY WILDCARDS

Q - CAN I MOVE PROPERTY WILDCARDS AROUND BETWEEN SETS?

A - Yes, you can move wildcards and Property cards around as much as you like amongst the sets, but ONLY during your turn.

Q - DOES IT COUNT AS ONE OF MY 3 CARDS IF I MOVE PROPERTY WILDCARDS AROUND BETWEEN SETS?
A - No. Although you have to wait until your turn to do so, moving a card that is already on the table in front of you DOES NOT count as ‘playing’ a card.

Q - CAN I SWAP AND STEAL WILDCARDS FROM OTHER PLAYERS IN THE SAME WAY THAT I CAN WITH PROPERTY CARDS?
A - Yes. If you have a Forced Deal or Sly Deal card, you can treat wildcards in exactly the same way as standard Property cards.

Q - CAN I USE PROPERTY WILDCARDS TO PAY OTHER PLAYERS?
A - Yes and no.

You CAN use the 2-coloured property wildcards to pay other players (in the same way that you can pay with Property cards). The value is shown in the rings in the corners of the card.

You CAN’T use the 10-coloured Property Wildcards to pay other players because they have no monetary value.

Q - CAN I PUT A 2-COLOUR PROPERTY WILDCARD DOWN ON ITS OWN TO START CREATING A SET?
A - Yes. Treat these Property Wildcards in exactly the same way that you’d treat a standard Property card. You can charge rent on 2-colour wildcards, too!

Q - CAN I PUT A MULTICOLOURED (10-COLOUR) PROPERTY WILDCARD DOWN ON ITS OWN TO START CREATING A SET?
A - Yes, you can. But you can’t charge rent on it until you’ve added another card to it, because it has no value on its own. It would make more sense to add it on to an existing Property card or set of cards.

Q - CAN I MAKE A FULL PROPERTY SET USING JUST WILDCARDS?
A - No – this is impossible. You can use as many wildcards as you like to complete a set, but there always needs to be at least one standard Property card in the set.

The 2 multicoloured wildcards (the cards with all 10 colours across the top) DO NOT count as a full set on their own. They have to be used in conjunction with a 2-colour wildcard and/or a standard Property card.

YOUR BANK & PAYING OTHER PLAYERS

Q - CAN I PUT PROPERTY CARDS INTO MY BANK?

A - No. Property cards must never go into your Bank. They only count as property.

Q - WHY WOULD I PUT AN ACTION CARD INTO MY BANK (AS MONEY) INSTEAD OF USING IT FOR THE ACTION?
A - Sometimes an Action card is more valuable as money in your Bank.

For example:

a Rent card that you can't use because you don’t have any properties of the colours shown on the card
OR

a Hotel card that you can't use because you don't have any full property sets or Houses.
OR

if you really need money in your Bank to make sure that you don’t have to pay other players with your properties.

Q - CAN I PUT CARDS THAT OTHER PEOPLE PAY ME WITH INTO MY HAND?

A - No. Whether someone pays you with money or property, the cards they give you as payment must go onto the table in front of you, not into your hand. Put Property cards straight into your property collection and Money/Action cards straight into your Bank.

Q - IF SOMEONE PAYS ME WITH AN ACTION CARD FROM THEIR BANK, CAN I USE IT AS AN ACTION CARD?
A - No. Once someone has put an Action card into their Bank as money, it must stay as money and cannot be used for its action later in the game, even by another player.

Q - WHICH CARDS CAN I USE TO PAY OTHER PLAYERS? (E.G. FOR RENT, BIRTHDAYS ETC.)
A - You can choose to pay:

from your Bank (with money or Action cards that you've Banked as money),
with Property cards, or
with a combination of both.
Remember, you can only pay with cards that are on the table in front of you, never with cards from your hand.

Q - CAN I PAY OTHER PLAYERS WITH CARDS FROM MY HAND?
A - No. You can only pay with cards that are on the table in front of you.

Q - WHAT IF I DON'T HAVE ENOUGH MONEY TO PAY ANOTHER PLAYER?
A - If you don't have any money in your Bank, you must pay with properties. (It's a good idea to keep your Bank well-stocked.) If you don't have any properties to pay with, you don't pay at all!

Q - WHAT IF I DON'T HAVE THE EXACT AMOUNT I NEED TO PAY ANOTHER PLAYER? CAN I GET CHANGE?
A - If you owe another player M2M, for example, and you only have a M10M card in your Bank, you must either give them the M10M (no change is given!), or give them a Property card to cover the debt.

Q - IF I HAVE TO PAY ANOTHER PLAYER USING MY PROPERTIES (BECAUSE I'VE RUN OUT OF MONEY OR WANT TO SAVE MONEY), CAN THEY CHOOSE WHICH PROPERTY TO TAKE?
A - No. It is always up to you to choose what to give the player you’re paying.

RENT

Q - IF I USE A ‘DOUBLE THE RENT’ CARD WITH A STANDARD RENT CARD, DOES THIS COUNT AS ‘PLAYING’ 2 CARDS, OR 1?

A - This would count as 2 out of the possible 3 cards you can play per turn.

Q - CAN I USE A ‘DOUBLE THE RENT’ CARD WITH THE MULTICOLOURED RENT CARD, OR JUST WITH THE 2-COLOUR RENT CARDS?
A - You can use a ‘Double the Rent’ card with ANY Rent card, including the multicoloured Rent card.

Q - IF I’M COLLECTING 2 PROPERTY SETS OF THE SAME COLOUR AT ONE TIME, CAN I PLAY A MATCHING-COLOURED RENT CARD AND CHARGE RENT ON BOTH SETS?
A - No. You can charge Rent on one set (complete or incomplete) at a time. There is no reason to keep them as two separate sets rather than combining them into one, because you need three different coloured sets to win the game.

Q - CAN I COLLECT RENT FROM ALL PLAYERS WHEN I PLAY A RENT CARD?
A - It depends on the type of Rent card.

If it’s a Rent card with 2 colours on it, charge ALL players rent on a property (or property set) in one of those colours.

If it’s a Rent card with 10 colours on it, charge ONE player rent on a property in any colour.

Q - CAN I PLAY 2 ‘DOUBLE THE RENT’ CARDS ON MY TURN (WITH A STANDARD RENT CARD)?
A - Yes. This counts as your 3 cards for that turn and quadruples the rent!

JUST SAY NO CARDS

Q - CAN I 'JUST SAY NO' TO A 'JUST SAY NO' CARD?

A - Yes. And the other player could play another ‘Just Say No card to yours if they wanted to!

Q - CAN I KEEP MY 'JUST SAY NO' CARD AFTER I'VE USED IT?
A - No. You must put the card down onto the play pile.

Q - DOES A 'JUST SAY NO' CARD COUNT TOWARDS MY 3-CARD MAXIMUM PER TURN?
A - No. ‘Just Say No’ cards are separate and can be used at any time to refuse an Action card. A ‘Just Say No’ card does not count as one of the cards you lay on a turn.

PASS GO CARDS

Q - CAN I USE MORE THAN ONE 'PASS GO' CARD IN ONE TURN?

A - Yes. You can play more than one ‘Pass Go’ card on the same turn, as long as you don’t exceed 3 cards in total. Remember, if you have more than 7 cards in your hand at the end of your turn, you’ll have to get rid of some!

 

Home | Links | Contact Us | Rat Race Monopoly Rules | Rat Race Monopoly FAQ | Rat Race Monopoly Downloads
Classic Monopoly Rules | Classic Monopoly FAQ | Monopoly Game Links | Monopoly History

Copyright 2010 - Rat Race Monopoly Add-on game 1.4 - by JB Concepts media group